Podcast: The KZSU Fred Frith Special

August 22, 2012 at 11:13 pm 1 comment

Here’s the Fred Frith special that I aired on KZSU on Aug. 20, discussing the album Gravity and the Aug. 25 special show at Slim’s to celebrate it.

‘Couple things to note:

The special aired in two parts over the course of an hour. I kept them separate in the two files above.

It totaled about 48 minutes, and I added an intermission of some music from Aaron Novik’s Thorny Brocky, which Aaron had kindly provided. (Right after the show, I gave Dominique Leone some airtime as well.)

The version you’re getting here is squeezed down into MP3 format, with the Gravity songs faded down early. (If you’d prefer to just download them, here they are: Gravity-part1 and Gravity-part2.)

If you have no idea what any of this is about, I explain it in “Fred Frith: Gravity Rises.”

Entry filed under: Bay Area music, upcoming shows. Tags: , .

What to Expect When Fred Frith Performs Gravity Fred Frith Supplementary Playlist

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. markweiss86  |  September 11, 2012 at 11:25 am

    Ava Mendoza Trio shreds Smith-Andersen art show and party
    Posted on September 11, 2012

    Dominique, Nick and Ava sound-checking at Smith-Andersen
    Ava Mendoza, Dominique Leone and Nick Tamburro crushed it like so many pomegranates going POM Saturday at the opening party at Smith-Andersen Gallery in Palo Alto. They played three short sets over two hours, then rushed up to Berkeley for a club show at Starry Plough. I schmoozed with about a half dozen fans, artists and staff before retreating to a stool within two feet of the keyboards, for my own little peace of music/food/art/weather heaven. I am not sure if they noticed when, finishing 90 percent of my bottled water, I blew across the mouth a few times, at, to my mind, at appropriate points in measure, to create if not a note per se than something note-like, or more note-like than noise-like. That I subsequently kicked a group of hanging metal rulers and t-squares a couple times did not seem to inspire much ire either. I may have clapped once or twice, after a song. I hooted first once than twice. “That was a double-whoop!”
    Good luck to Ava and gang, with new cd and changing their name. But don’t change that sound!
    PS. this is a weird segue and speaking of heaven but my “pomegranates going POM” reminds me that I caught “60 Minutes” talking with a supposed former Navy SEAL who wrote under the name Mark Owen about about the killing of Osama Bin Laden and that he added the detail that on his way home given liberty he stopped for “two tacos and a bean burrito” at Taco Bell reminds me of the restroom-based danger-evading story-telling scene from Tim Roth in Tarrantino’s “Reservoir Dog”. edit to add, two minute later: Mr. Orange (Tim Roth) “bag full of pot room full of cops” bathroom scene>>>
    Like

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


