Intermission

April 16, 2010 at 3:32 pm Leave a comment

The start of baseball season always affects my musical life, partly because of baseball itself and my Rotisserie team, but also because, coincidentally, work piles up at that time — both at the radio station and in real life.  It’s been a more crowded schedule than usual this year, so I’ve done little musically. Haven’t even sought out the new Nels Cline Singers album yet, even after writing about it.

But I’m still here.  I attended a couple of very good shows on Thursday last week that I should write about. I’ve even got blurry pictures.  Polly Moller and Moe! Staiano did an interesting duet around the concept of “spoetry;” Rent Romus and Bob Marsh backed poet Robert Anbian; and I did catch one set from Scott Amendola’s Ornette Coleman cover band.

The radio show continues too, Thursdays at 6:00 a.m. Pacific.  Yesterday I played a lot more old stuff than usual, which felt good. I prefer playing newer music, but there’s such a wealth of free jazz that’s untapped.

Consider this post a placeholder, just because too many blank spots on the calendar gets embarrassing.  I’ll try to pick up the pace.  Don’t forget Record Store Day tomorrow.

Entry filed under: blather. Tags: .

Scott Amendola’s Week The Bunky Green Challenge

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

