Local Heroes

September 3, 2009 at 10:52 pm

source: signal to noise magazine.comIt’s a Bay Area-heavy issue of Signal to Noise magazine this quarter, and I’m thrilled.

There’s a feature on Pink Mountain, the quasi-local avant-rock supergroup I’d mentioned back in July. Tom Djll tags along on their mini-tour (which I missed) for the new album (which I haven’t heard yet; hey, it’s a busy life over here!)

The band consists of John Shiurba (guitar), Sam Coomes (of Quasi; keys & vocals), Gino Robair (drums), Kyle Bruckmann (oboe), and Ned Rothenberg (sax). A noisy rock band with oboe and sax. You gotta love that.

There’s also a feature on Mills College, the wellspring of so much local talent. Present and past faculty there includ(ed) Fred Frith, Pauline Oliveros, Roscoe Mitchell, and Darius Milhaud.

A nice score for the home team. And if you’re interested in any of the music I write about here, StN is a steady resource and a good read, and not expensive. (And no, I don’t work for them, and even if I did, it would probably have to be pro bono.)

Entry filed under: news. Tags: , , .

Uptown Playlist: Sept. 4, 2009


Calendar

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


