Playlist: April 17, 2009

KZSU playlist for Friday, April 17, 2009, 3:00 to 6:30 p.m.

Too exhausted and too far behind to add much commentary, so I’ll let this one speak for itself. Notice that the Revolutionary Ensemble‘s last live performance is here, represented on disk by Mutable Music, and that the late LeRoy Jenkins makes a repeat appearance of sorts on the Jim McAuley disk; the two CDs were coincidentally added to rotation this week. More on that later, maybe.

Most album titles link into KZSU’s Zookeeper database; the Album Review icon means there’s a review or description there as well.

I’ve also started added links to the artist and label names. It’s time-consuming; as typing-intensive as my old playlists looked, I had it down to a cut-and-paste science that I’m still trying to replicate here.

Artist Track Album/Label
Dejohnette / Patitucci / Perez Seventh D, 2nd Movement Album Review Music We Are
Golden Beams

Revolutionary Ensemble Configuration Album Review Beyond The Boundary Of Time
Frisell, Bill We’re Not From Around Here Album Review Best Of Bill Frisell Vol. 1: Folk Songs, The
Nonesuch Records

Cheer-Accident Sun Dies Album Review Fear Draws Misfortune
Cuneiform Records
Trigger Something You Are Album Review All These Things
Mcauley, Jim Improvisation #5 [w/Leroy Jenkins, violin] Album Review Ultimate Frog, The
Drip Audio
Stein, Norbert / Pata Generators Die Zen Gabote (The Zen Commandments) Album Review Direct Speech
Pata Music

Cleaver/Parker/Taborn Fieda Mytlie Album Review Farmers By Nature
Aum Fidelity
Ratatat Shempi (Zongamin Remix) Album Review Shempi
Xl Recordings
— (4:00 p.m.) —
Shakers N’ Bakers The Roar Of G_D Album Review Yearning For Zion
Little I Music

Hartigan, Royal James Eagle Eye Album Review Ancestors
Innova Recordings
Del Sol String Quartet Hyo-Shin Na “Song Of The Beggars” Album Review Ring Of Fire
Other Minds

Coleman, Ornette European Echoes Sound Museum(Hidden Man)
Sparks Strange Animal Album Review Exotic Creatures Of The Deep
Lil’ Beethoven Records
Isotope Mr. M’s Picture Album Review Golden Section
Cuneiform Records

Ehrlich, Marty After All Pliant Plaint
Enja Records
O’connor, Mark‘s Hot Swing Trio Gypsy Fantastic Album Review Live In New York
Omac Records

Rajeev Taranath Raga Mishra Kirwani Thumri
India Archive Music
— (5:00 p.m.) —
Binney, David Here Is All The Love I Have Album Review Third Occasion
Mythology Records
Mahanthappa, Rudresh / Indo-Pak Coalition Apti Album Review Apti
Innova Recordings

Guberman/Ingalls Jack Dempsey [excerpt] Out Fishing
Go Kustom
Berthiaume/Sharp Phase Album Review Base
Actuelle Cd
Ornstein, Leo Three Tales: Rendezvous At The Lake [Sarah Cahill, piano] Album Review Fantasy And Metaphor
New Albion Records
Weber, Janice Suicide in an Airplane [composer: Leo Ornstein] Piano Sonatas No. 4 & No. 7

Microscopic Septet, The Twilight Time Zone Album Review Lobster Leaps In
Cuneiform Records
Ayler, Albert Prophet Spirits Rejoice
— (6:00 p.m.) —
Lane, Adam/Full Throttle Orchestra The Genius of El Segundo New Magical Kingdom
Clean Feed

Hamilton, Chico Abdullah’s Delight Chico Hamilton And The Players
Blue Note
Keezer, Geoffrey Arana Amarilla Album Review Aurea
Olekranon Skipjack Album Review Gaitan
Inam Records
M.O.B. Trio Play Some D Album Review Quite Live In Brooklyn